Vegan vs vegetarian: what’s the difference between the two?

Main differences

While vegetarians occasionally indulge in egg and dairy products, vegans avoid anything animal-based – including consumer products made from leather, silk or wool. If vegetarianism is a diet, veganism is a lifestyle. However, according to information from vegan.ee, only vegans prefer to call themselves vegetarians, and consider vegans to be semi-vegetarians because they eat animal-based dairy products and eggs.

Veganism is a philosophy that seeks ways to abandon the use of animals for any hostile purpose – be it the meat industry, the clothing industry or anything else. They swear never to eat or consume any animal products. Veganism does not impose any restrictions on the consumption of alcohol, tobacco, coffee, etc., although vegans should be aware that many alcoholic beverages are made from animal substances and that tobacco companies do test on animals.

What does a vegan eat?

  • cereal products (e.g. bread, pastries, buckwheat, amaranth, quinoa, breakfast cereals, muesli),
  • pulses (various beans (field, field, kidney), lentils (red, green, beluga, etc.), peas),
  • vegetables (e.g. carrots, potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, corn, tomatoes, celery, asparagus),
  • fruit (e.g. apple, avocado, melon, banana, plum, orange, pear),
  • seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, sesame, poppy, chia, hemp, flax),
  • almonds and nuts (Greek, Brazil, Indian, hazelnut, coconut, pecan),
  • berries (strawberry, fig, cherry, blueberry, cabbage, goji),
  • mushrooms (chanterelles, oyster mushrooms, champignons).
  • semi-finished and finished products (e.g. tofu, soya milk, vegetable pâtés, etc.) made from plants, mushrooms and other non-animal products.

Vegan foods can be both raw and cooked, such as salads, smoothies, pasta, soups, steaks, sauces, pastries, baked goods, cakes, tarts, candy, chocolates, spreads and much more. Plant-based alternatives that mimic the flavours and textures of sausage, vinaigrette, cutlet, cheese, milk, yoghurt, ice cream, mayonnaise, etc. are also available. Vegan sauces, dressings and drinks are mostly made from nuts, seeds, pulses or grains, and nutritious cutlets and steaks are made from vegetables, pulses and grains. Most of the well-known dishes (e.g. ice-cream, macaroni and cheese, cream cake, piccakes) can also be easily made from plant-based foods.

Sources: vegan.ee, Diffen